Board of Directors

WRTC2014, Inc. Officers and Directors

Doug Grant, K1DG, President. Doug is an accomplished station builder and operator, and competed in the first five WRTC events where he won one gold and two bronze medals. He has also served as president of a large regional radio club, and is a member of several contest committees. Professionally, Doug is a consultant in the semiconductor and wireless industries.

Randy Thompson, K5ZD, Vice-president. Randy holds several operating records and is a member of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame. He has competed in five WRTC events and is Director of the popular CQ WW DX Contest. He is in sales management for an Internet software company in Massachusetts.

Tom Frenaye, K1KI, Secretary. Tom has been a WRTC competitor and referee. He is a Director of the American Radio Relay League (“ARRL”), the national association for amateur radio, and President of the ARRL Foundation. Tom is also the former First Selectman (mayor) of the town of Suffield, CT.

Dick Green, WC1M, Treasurer. Dick is an accomplished operator, with several USA-high scores to his credit. He helped design a major awards-management secure database system for the ARRL, and and was Chairman of the ARRL’s Contest Advisory Committee from 2007 to 2011. He is a successful entrepreneur, and has served on the boards of several companies and investment groups. Dick is a management consultant specializing in governance, strategy, business evaluation, and M&A and is also a Senior Fellow at the Center for Private Equity and Entrepreneurship at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College.

Mark Pride, K1RX, Director. Mark is a veteran contest operator, with a strong record as single-operator and owner/operator of a multi-transmitter station in New Hampshire. He was multi-term President of a large regional radio club, and is active in several local radio clubs and is the Emergency Management Director of his community. Mark is employed as a Director of Project Management for a wireless company.

Dan Street, K1TO, Director. Dan is a three-time WRTC competitor and three-time gold medal winner. He is a member of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame, President of Florida Contest Group, and manager of a major national radiosport event. Dan is an independent contractor in the wireless communications industry.

Larry Tyree, N6TR, Director. He is a member of CQ Contest Hall of Fame and competed in WRTC1996. He holds numerous radiosport records, and is the author of a popular computer program for radiosport. He is also responsible for scoring entries in several radiosport events including previous WRTC events. Professionally, he is an engineering manager for a major semiconductor company.

Andy Blank, N2NT, Director. Andy was a competitor in five WRTC events, and bronze medal winner in 2006. He has won numerous contests from both his home station and as a guest operator, and is the Director of a major radiosport event. He works as a Field Engineer for a Marine Communications firm.

John Dorr, K1AR, Director. John is a four-time WRTC competitor and two-time medal winner and holds numerous single- and multi-operator records. He is a member of CQ Contest Hall of Fame, Chairman of the World Wide Radio Operators Foundation, wrote a monthly magazine column on radiosport for over 25 years, and is a long-term member of the committee responsible for the largest radiosport event (the CQ World Wide DX Contest). He is vice-president of business development for a nanotechnology company.

Dave Pascoe, KM3T, Director. Dave has been both a referee and competitor at WRTC events. He has a strong single-op contesting record and has helped develop multi-op stations and teams who have achieved USA and worldwide victories. Dave has been a member of the CQWW Contest Committee and has developed software tools for contest support, including tools for entry processing and live streaming audio from contest stations. Dave is the founder/owner of and is also a management and technology consultant.